New to NICU

At just 24 weeks our beautiful daughter Elle was born.  It was very fast and very un expected.   There were a million things going through my head at the time like how could this have happened?  I was just checked yesterday and everything was fine!  But at 8:30 the next morning contractions hit hard at every 2 min.  Being a nurse myself I thought they could be false until a couple of hours later they weren't letting up.  I drove the 45min to the hospital and was immediately admitted dilated to a 5 with a bulging sac.  She wasn't ready!  I wasn't ready!  They tried to give me medication so they could fly me to a more equipped hospital. But after 4 hours they could only get them to every 14min apart  Not completely stopped. The next time they checked me I had dilated to a 7 and was told that there was no way possible to be transferred out. This hospital was not really equipped to have babies of her gestational age born there.  Luckily they had a doctor that had worked with a flight crew at the hospital that we were going to be going to that volunteered to come in.  she was born at 7:28 in the evening weighing a 1 pound 11 oz and 12.25" long. She only cried twice and I never got to see her because they did an emergency c-section.  There was a storm in between the hospitals so the team was not able to fly out to us and ended up having to come in an ambulance. By time they had gotten there she was already 15 minutes old but the doctor that had volunteered to come already had her intubated and stabilized.

After I was finally allowed out as the ORI got to briefly see my daughter for the 1st time before they loaded her up in took her away. I spent 2 days in the hospital that was almost 3 hours away from  her while my husband was up here with her.  Even thought I felt terrible and needed a blood transfusion I had convinced the dr I was fine so they would release me to go to her....